Counselling software in the UK: prices compared

What to look for when you choose software for your counselling practice, and what six tools cost for one counsellor.

We make Clarity, one of the tools on this page. To keep it fair, every price comes from the company’s own pricing page, with a link so you can check it yourself.

What to look for in counselling software

Practice management software keeps the admin side of your work in one place: your diary, client records, session notes and payments. The tools below all do some of that. These are the questions worth asking before you choose.

How is the price worked out?

Most tools charge per therapist. Some charge per account, and Clarity charges by how many clients you see. Work out the price for your own caseload, not just the headline figure.

What does the plan include?

A low price may cover notes only. Look for the parts you’ll use every week, such as your diary, reminders, notes, invoices and card payments. Then check what costs extra: some tools charge for text messages, video calls or AI note-taking on top of the plan.

How are session notes kept private?

Session notes are some of the most sensitive records you hold. Ask where the data is stored, who can read it and whether notes can be encrypted. You can check whether a company is registered with the Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) on the ICO’s public register.

How do clients pay?

If clients pay by card, find out which payment provider the tool uses and what its fees are. Some tools draft invoices for you; others only record what has been paid.

Can you use outcome measures?

If you use measures such as PHQ-9, GAD-7 or CORE-10, check whether clients can fill them in online and whether the scores are worked out for you.

Can you take your records with you?

You may change software one day. Check that you can export your clients, sessions and notes, and what happens to your records if you stop paying.

Can you try it first?

Most tools offer a free trial or a demo. Use it to enter a normal week of work before you decide.

Prices compared

Standard prices for one counsellor, as shown on each company’s pricing page on . Listed in alphabetical order. Prices change, so check the linked page before you decide.

Counselling software prices for one counsellor, checked on 28 October 2026
Software Price for one counsellor How it’s charged VAT Trial
Clarity £7.99 a month for up to 7 active clients, £16.99 for up to 15, or £24.99 with no client limit By number of active clients Excludes VAT No trial; free demo with sample data
Cliniko pricing (opens in new tab) US$45 a month By number of practitioners, in bands Not stated; priced in US dollars 30 days free
Kiku pricing (opens in new tab) £6.99 a month (Safe Notes), £12.99 (Therapy Planner) or £16.99 (The Works) Per therapist Not stated 30 days free
Splose pricing (opens in new tab) £18 a month; 10% off if you pay yearly Per practitioner Not stated 14 days free
WriteUpp pricing (opens in new tab) From £19.95 a month (Flex) or from £27.95 a month (Solo) Per user (Flex), or per plan (Solo) Excludes tax where applicable 30 days free
Zanda pricing (opens in new tab) £15 a month (Starter) Per account; extra practitioners cost more on the Growth plan Not stated 14 days free
  • Plan names. Kiku describes Safe Notes as clinical notes software, Therapy Planner as client management and scheduling, and The Works as full practice management. WriteUpp’s Solo plan includes one clinician and one non-clinical user.
  • Paying yearly. Clarity costs £79, £169 or £249 a year, and Splose takes 10% off yearly plans.
  • Extras. Some tools charge separately for text messages, AI note-taking or video calls. Card payments also carry the payment provider’s own fees. Check each pricing page for the details.
  • Offers. Several companies, us included, run introductory offers. We’ve left them out because they change often.

Where Clarity fits

We built Clarity for counsellors and psychotherapists in private practice in the UK. Here is what it does, and when another tool may suit you better.

What you get on every plan

  • Client records, with codenames if you’d rather real names didn’t appear throughout.
  • Your diary, block bookings and email reminders to clients.
  • Session notes, encrypted in your browser before they’re stored.
  • Card payments into your own Stripe account. Clarity adds no fee; Stripe’s own fees apply.
  • Monthly invoices drafted for you, if you switch them on.
  • Outcome measures including PHQ-9, GAD-7 and CORE-10, scored for you.
  • A tax-year summary grouped into Self Assessment categories, ready for your accountant.
  • No account needed for clients: you can run everything for them yourself.

The three plans have the same tools. The only difference is how many clients you can have.

When another tool may suit you better

  • You want clients to book their own sessions online. Clarity doesn’t offer this yet.
  • You want text message reminders. Clarity sends reminders by email.
  • You see more than 15 clients and want the lowest monthly price. Clarity is then £24.99 a month, and some per-therapist plans above cost less.
  • You run a team of counsellors. Clarity’s plans for agencies are coming soon.

Common questions

How much does counselling software cost in the UK?

On the pricing pages we checked on 28 October 2026, plans for one counsellor started at between £6.99 and £19.95 a month. Cliniko is priced in US dollars, from US$45 a month. Most tools charge per therapist. Clarity charges by how many active clients you have, from £7.99 a month.

Which counselling software is cheapest?

Of the tools we checked, Kiku’s Safe Notes plan had the lowest price, at £6.99 a month for one therapist. Kiku describes it as clinical notes software. Clarity’s lowest plan is £7.99 a month for up to seven active clients. The cheapest choice for you depends on how many clients you see and which features you need.

Do these prices include VAT?

WriteUpp’s pricing page says its prices exclude tax where applicable, and Clarity’s prices exclude VAT. Cliniko, Kiku, Splose and Zanda don’t say either way on their pricing pages, so it’s worth asking them before you sign up.

Can I try Clarity before I pay?

Yes. Enter your email and we’ll send you a link to a demo with sample data. You don’t need an account or a card.

How do you keep this comparison fair?

Every price comes from the company’s own pricing page, linked in the table, and we show the date we checked. We list standard prices, not short-term offers. If something is out of date or wrong, email hello@withclarity.uk and we’ll correct it.

See whether Clarity fits your practice.